The Dirty Dozen

I attended a Cooking Matters shopping tour for our Adelante Life Skills class this past Monday. The instructor mentioned looking up the “Dirty Dozen,” a yearly release that tells you the foods that have the most pesticides…in which case you should be more cautious and buy them organically.

Apples, spinach, grapes, strawberries, blueberries…pretty much a lot of things I tend to buy. And when I compared the price of organic apples in the grocery store to regular apples caked in pesticides, the organic apples were cheaper!
I felt pretty sore when I woke up this morning after the hike yesterday. It was eye-opening to realize that I would be hiking that much each day for 6 months straight…without the comfort of going home to a hot shower, a decent meal and a warm bed. I definitely have a ways to go in order to mentally and physically prepare for next spring.
I went to the library today and got a library card! I found that I can check out e-books for free for my Kindle through the library system this way. I also checked out Nicolas Sparks’ memoir, “Three Weeks with my Brother.” So far, so good.
At the beginning of the book, the two brothers are going on a three week trip together around the world. To all these different countries. Nicolas is having second thoughts about leaving home and family for three months and regrets buying the trip. His brother says why aren’t you excited about this anymore? And Nicolas says he has all these things he is worried about and has to do and that he’ll get excited about it the closer the trip day comes. His brother says you’re making a mistake:
“Haven’t you learned yet? The anticipation is an essential part of this whole trip. The excitement of going, the places we’ll see, the people we’ll meet. That’s part of the joy of this whole thing….Never forget that anticipation is an important part of life. Work’s important, family’s important, but without excitement, you have nothing. You’re cheating yourself if you refuse to enjoy what’s coming.”
At any rate, getting excited for new adventures ahead!
Leave a Reply

