Never too late

I woke up this morning feeling all sorts of happiness.image

It feels good to make peace with dissatisfactions in your life and move forward.

And today was a good day.

I spent the morning at Adelante finishing up the  poster-size summer events calendars for our clients with free or cheap activities the families can do.

Sometimes I am a babysitter at work and have to find ways to entertain the children. This afternoon: Evil Superman jumps over the assembled cheeseburgers and chicken bone.

Kids are so precious, and it really makes my time in the office more enjoyable when they stop by and play.

When I got home tonight I had a long conversation with one of my housemates about my time here and the surfacey levels of relationships within the volunteer community. It was refreshing and reassuring to hear her perspective on the disconnect this year’s group has and I am optimistic for August when a new group comes along.

Here’s to a fresh start in August, yes—but I know there’s still a chance this last month to continue build stronger relationships with those here now.

I’m looking forward to both.

Tomorrow is the 4th of July. Unfortunately, Alamosa had to cancel their fireworks due to all of the forest fires around. The Parade Mile Race will kick off events tomorrow, celebrating the 4th as well as Alamosa County’s 100th year. I’ll be photographing the Kid’s Quarter Mile Sprint and Mile Race, as well as the parade following. I plan to relax with the community the rest of the day with free concerts at Cole Park.

Good night and happy celebrating!

Thought of the day: It is never too late to build a relationship with someone.

Leave a Reply

