Thermometer or a Thermostat

Today I was reminded that you have a choice.

A choice to be in whatever mindset, with whatever attitude you’d like.

Doing whatever you’d like.

A friend told me, “You can either be the thermometer that reads the heat, or a thermostat to cool things off.”

I like that analogy.

It’s so easy to be sucked into negativity and complaining, but what’s the point?

It’s certainly not going to change anything, or move you forward.

I adore life.

All of the people, the places and simple things I’ve experienced.

I am choosing to live each day how I want to, with a choice in making my priorities.

I recently read this blog post, “Date a Girl Who Travels,” by Rosemarie Urquico. I resonate with so many lines, but this one in particular made me stop and think:

“You’ll also recognize a girl who travels by the fact that she’s always amazed at the world around her, no matter if she’s in her hometown or in a place that’s totally new. She sees beauty all around her, not just the ones featured in travel guides or shown in postcards. A girl who travels has developed a deeper appreciation for life. She won’t judge you, or pressure you to do things you don’t want to do. She knows too much about the importance of identity and self-efficacy, and she will appreciate all the more if you won’t pretend to be who you’re not.”

Today is a beautiful day, and tomorrow will be as well.

Leave a Reply

