Back to business…

IMG_0636
Well, vacations cannot last forever.

I had a wonderful time in Ohio with David, my family and friends. It was so good to see everyone.

It was a nice change of pace to bond with my family in a new environment away from our familiar surrounds in upstate NY. I think everyone had a great time, and I am so appreciative of my friend for letting us stay at her house over the weekend.


IMG_0707

Tonight Jake, Jeff and I attended the Leading Edge graduation dinner. This was a 12-week course on the basics of starting and growing a small business. Randy and Micah of Rustic Log Furniture were the keynote speakers and shared a lot of great insight with us.

One thing that was really inspiring was how well they treat their employees. Several times a month Randy will sit down with their employees and ask them how they are doing. He gathers their feedback and works with them on what they need to be satisfied with their job. He made a great point that each employee desired something different, whether it was flexible hours, high pay, health benefits, etc…

Another thing I was really impressed by was how innovative and ingenius he was with modifying the tools and machines they used at his shop to be more efficient and productive. He was constantly inventing better ways of doing things.

I got home tonight and was sitting down on my bed when something tickled my foot. I shook it off thinking it was nothing but felt it again. I looked down and there was a giant stink bug crawling on my foot! I jumped up so quickly and Jake helped me scoop it up and throw it outside. I don’t know how well I am going to be sleeping tonight…

If there was one thing I learned while being gone the past few days it’s that sometimes it takes getting on a plane to realize your head should not be in the clouds all of the time.

Dreaming can be good at times, but it’s important to be realistic and honest in any situation you are in.

That’s all for now. Good night!

 

 

Leave a Reply

