Five Love Languages

216302_495549900494510_2010063676_nI didn’t mention in my last post, last night Nicole lead our Life Skills class in discussing the Five Love Languages, written by Gary Chapman. Here are the five:

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Quality Time

3. Receiving Gifts

4. Acts of Service

5. Physical Touch

It was a great lesson and opportunity to think about what my primary love language is. I would have to say it is words of affirmation.

As Mark Twain said, “I can live two months on a good compliment.”

Hearing words of affirmation from those I am close to and care about gives me so much encouragement and pushes me to the next level moving forward.

It was also a great exercise to think about what the love languages of those who are close in my life are.

Often time a lot of miscommunication or arguments result from not understanding how each person responds to situations and what they truly need in their life to flourish.

I very well could spend a few hours writing all my thoughts down tonight, but I really need to focus on finishing the Generosity on Tap video for VolCom.

So here’s a quick recap of today:

We had our 2.5 hour All-Staff La Puente meeting this morning. One great point that Lance made was about how we have so many supporters in our lives that we may not notice.

And like a sailboat without wind, we wouldn’t be able to go anywhere without the support and encouragement of our friends, family and community.

In my case, this ties back to the love language, words of affirmation. For this and all of the wonderful people in my life, I am grateful.

After a quick hour at Adelante, Jeff, Victoria and I had a meeting this afternoon with Kim Smoyer. Jeff and I had met with her two weeks ago and we wanted to brainstorm seed me plans even further.

It was a very productive 3.5 hour meeting. We have decided on putting together a fun, innovative brainstorming meeting with a selected handful of people from throughout the Valley. People from all different walks of life, all different careers with all different ways of thinking. We’ll briefly present the group with our overall vision and a few key points we want to focus on developing. It will be a day of creativity, innovation, imagination and solidifying our ideas—as well as hearing their suggestions from a fresh viewpoint. We’re hoping to get this all together by the end of June.

Back at Adelante for a bit, I updated the Facebook page and checked some emails.

I need to finish doing some laundry and pack a bit tonight, so it is time to tackle this GOT video…

Good night, everyone!

Leave a Reply

