Alas, it’s Friday

photoWhen I got to the office this morning Jeff suggested we spend some time outside of the office and take in the fresh air. I agreed. We walked down Main Street to Treasure Alley gift shop and got some ideas for displays. We also stopped by the San Luis Valley Museum and an antique shop.

It was really nice to spend time outside the office and away from the computer. So much of my week is sitting at a desk staring at a computer screen, and that can really wear you out…

On my lunch break I called my friend, Dawn. It was so wonderful to catch up with her and to reground myself with her sound advice.

At VolCom I worked on some new concepts for the La Puente poster. I practiced using a Wacom tablet and pen to draw with in Adobe Illustrator, and that made such a difference.

Tonight I helped run the last event of Hunger Ed week, called Welcome to the Table. This was an interactive meal discussing quality of food and hunger. The first course was fruit snacks, potato chips and soda. We discussed how this is a quick and inexpensive snack many may choose to eat but that they are not getting the “fuel” they need. These may have plenty of calories, but they aren’t filling your body up with the proper nutrients it needs. Course two was a mixture of rice, beans, canned vegetables and cheese and course three was quinoa and asparagus salad with homemade honey mustard dressing. The discussion went onto several other topics including the affects of poor dieting on children in school, being afraid to try things you weren’t brought up eating, and ways to meet people where they’re at to improve everyone’s choice of food intake…

I found out I was supposed to be house sitting at the ranch for this weekeend—for some reason in my head I thought it was next weekend. It was getting dark, so I had to quickly run from that event, say goodbye to a volunteer moving back home, and head into the Valley…

I am really thankful this week has come to an end, and that I’ll be able to relax in solitude the next two days. I need to recharge my batteries for the weeks ahead. Good night, all!

“If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange these apples, then you and I still each have one apple. But if you have an idea and I have an idea and we exchange these ideas, then each of us will have two ideas.” ~George Bernard Shaw Quotes

 

 

One thought on “Alas, it’s Friday

  1. Pingback: Nature, beauty and gratitude on the ranch… | The Pursuit of Meaning

Leave a Reply

