Love and fear

This morning I gave my very first La Puente tour. Because I’m only in the VolCom office a few hours a week, I didn’t feel very equipped so Lares, my Community Education supervisor, came along to fill in some details I may have forgotten along the way. In the end, I think it ended up going very well and I ended up learning quite a bit myself . It was also a really good opportunity to step out of the office for a while and to be reminded of why I was here. The programs La Puente has established and the numbers of people they provide services for is incredible and I had a really great time getting to know some of the staff. It’s funny how there are so many people working within La Puente, but we don’t often see each other or know about what’s going on in other programs.

After the tour and lunch at the shelter, I went to Cole Park with VolCom staff for a picnic and to relax in preparation for next week’s big Hunger Education Awareness events. (Flier credit posted below goes to Jake) It felt so good to be able to sit outside and soak in the sun.

555564_10151958717851501_1700271551_n

After,  I headed over to the Enterprise office to work on seed me.

Jeff and I spoke with Lacy, who is the wife of Rich, the new Rainbow’s End manager.

Lacy makes jewelry and we are going to work with her as one of our first seed me artists.

It was really encouraging to see how excited she was when we shared our vision with her—you could just see her brain spinning with ideas of things she could create.

We also met with Ariana, who will be working us as an intern through the summer. She’ll be helping me with some of the social media and storytelling aspects in the coming weeks. For starters, telling the story of the Valley as a whole will be crucial for crowdfunding opportunities, and we’ll also need to start working with Lacy on telling her story.

We’re hoping to have a website put together in the next month or so, and have a lot of work to do in gathering content…

After work, we had a community night training with two women from the Department of Human Services. We learned more about children in the Valley who are reported as abused and who are often sent to a foster home. There aren’t enough foster homes in the Valley, and often the children will be sent to Colorado Springs or Denver.

Today someone told me that there are only two real emotions in life: Love and Fear.

Everything else stems off of them…

I believe you shouldn’t pursue happiness. Instead you should be pursuing meaning. Happiness will arise when we do more of the things we are deeply passionate about, and less of the things we complain about doing.

Excerpt from Dalai Lama:

In our concern for others, we worry less about ourselves. When we worry les about ourselves, the experience of our own suffering is less intense.

What does this tell us? Firstly, because our every action has a potential universal dimension, a potential impact on others’ happiness, ethics are necessary as a means to ensure that we do not harm others. Secondly, it tells us that genuine happiness consists in those spiritual qualities of love and compassion, patience, tolerance, forgiveness, humility, and so on. It is these which price happiness both for ourselves and others.

295629_378411085599652_1900233641_n

Leave a Reply

