International Day of Happiness

Today Jeff and I met with Victoria’s daughter, Ariana to discuss an internship position. It sounds like she’s already had a lot of great experiences that could lend valuable insight and skills to SEED ME in the areas of social media and multimedia—among other things—and she is only a junior in high school! It’s great that people like her are getting involved at such a young age and I hope to provide her with as many experiences this summer as possible.

I got a volunteer bike today! I walked it over to Chaparral Tire to fill the tires with air and when I rode it back I noticed that the gears don’t work—but hey, it’s pretty flat here and at least I have a bike! It will be so nice to be able to bike to work and around Alamosa. Even though I really do love walking everywhere, a bike will save me so much time!

Jake, Jeff and I met with Donna from the Small Business Development Center this evening before our Leading Edge class. She gave us a lot of great feedback and suggestions. During class, Liz from Adams State University spoke with us about Marketing Strategies including market analysis, service positioning, product differentiation and market segmentation. It’s important to realize that even though you may want the entire world to buy your product or use your services, you need to find a target audience and go after them first.

I didn’t get back from the class until after nine tonight, so I had to do all the farm chores in the dark. I was a bit timid walking across the field with four horses following close behind me, but I had to get over that fear pretty quickly. Even though there is definitely a hierarchy amongst them, they show me a lot of respect and stay clear of my “bubble” when they charge at each other. It’s funny how so much of life comes down to who is in control…

Happy International Day of Happiness! For one man, happiness is reaching out and making those around him happy:

“I stand on the corner and just greet people and let them know that life is sweet. Life is beautiful. No matter what happens in life, it’s always sweet to be alive…We human beings gotta learn how to love one another. One of the greatest joys that can come to an individual is when you’re doing something and helping and can see the reaction on someone’s face.” ~Johnny Barnes

I could not agree with this more. I’ve found over the last few years how much my heart fills up when I see others around me happy and passionate about what they’re doing. We need to love and respect one another, especially for our differences.

What makes you happy?

376569_3302643776197_160919878_n

Leave a Reply

