Opportunities are everywhere…

You never know when a conversation or simple connection on LinkedIn can open doors for the work you are doing.

This morning another seed may have sprouted. I am hopeful that things will work out and that it can be an opportunity for La Puente, community members and other individuals, but I will have to wait and see.

Hopefully more details to come later!

This afternoon I helped Anna receive a donation of furniture from a couple in Mosca. When we found out we didn’t have a key to open the gate, we had to improvise and lift each piece of furniture over a fence in order to get it into the storage unit. Fortunately, one of the clients was home and he graciously came outside and helped us. He got right down business, picking up a solid wood table and lifting it over his head. He said that he had worked with a moving company since he was 13 while living in Texas, and seemed to know what he was doing—but gosh, with the amount that table weighed, I really hope he didn’t pull anything in his back…I told him that if I ever find an opportunity for him to work with a moving company in Alamosa, I’d let him know.

I got my AmeriCorps booklet to fill out for the new grant I agreed to, and have to go back through the process of filling out pages of information. I’ll be glad when everything is settled and I can get back into my routine without anymore disruptions.

Tonight, we had combined Life Skills with the Adelante clients and their PALS children. We set up three stations: board games, water coloring and baking. I spent most of my time at the game station, playing Guess Who and Candy Land with some families. I had forgotten how classic some of these games were and really enjoyed the time I had interacting with the families for a change.

I found out I’ll be house-sitting through Sunday afternoon. I’m looking forward to it—although, feeding the horses tonight in the dark when I got back from Life Skills was an experience. One of the four kept snickering at the others and kicking, which freaked me out a bit. Fortunately, I’m still in one piece as I write this…

I know I just mentioned in my post last night about the need for stories over statistics, but I feel I should mention that I am going to be participating in a local Crop Walk April 7. One of the biggest problems we run into in the states, isn’t about lack of food, but malnutrition. Too often Food Banks receive donations of breads and pastries and not enough hearty foods and vegetables. If you’re able, you can make a donation at the link here: Donate to support my Crop Walk! All donations help children and families worldwide, to fight against hunger…

As Pauline Kezer said, “When you do nothing, you feel overwhelmed and powerless. But when you get involved, you feel the sense of hope and accomplishment that comes from knowing you are working to make things better.”

Thank you and good night!

Leave a Reply

