Generosity of Thought…

Today has been good.

I spent the morning working on micro-enterprise brainstorming with Jeff and Victoria. It was really great we were finally able to fill her in on what we’ve been doing the last several week, and she gave us plenty of useful feedback and suggestions.

We should be registering the business as an LLC soon. Unfortunately, the state of Colorado does not recognize L3C’s yet, or that model would have been perfect for us. Once we register the name and the business, things will really start to take off. We are still waiting to hear back from the web producer in Creede, but a domain and website will be the next move, along with some social media pages. Then, the storytelling will begin!

I spent my lunch break in Cole Park this afternoon, as usual. I really enjoy spending time there, outside of the office and as close to nature as you can get in a town. I read some more of Half the Sky while soaking in the sun and breathing in the fresh air.

I was at VolCom for the rest of the day. I got a few things checked off my list while watching this TED talk I’ve posted below.

When I got home I baked some high-altitude chocolate chip cookies. I really enjoy baking, it is nice to focus your mind on something else for a change, and to see an immediate finished product is rewarding. Plus, who couldn’t resist a chocolate chip cookie right out of the oven to top off their day?

After baking, I went with Amy and her husband, Matt, to a board member’s home. I will be house sitting for them the next week, and am really looking forward to it. They have chickens, cows, horses, two wonderful dogs and a cat—not to mention a gorgeous view of Blanca and an open sky full of stars. I will definitely be bringing my hammock and will definitely go stargazing while I am there…

I am excited for this week of solitude.

I post this TED tonight because I think it makes a lot of great points about non-profits and funding resources. One thing I’ve really picked up on over the last few weeks here is how important it is for non-profits to pick up the business mindset and find ways to sustain themselves. There are thousands upon thousands of non-profits today, and everyone is competing over this tiny pool of grant money and donations. A non-profit that relies on grant money each year to provide the services they offer to the public can get into serious trouble if they lose the grant—and in turn, this hurts the people. It’s a vicious cycle and is not solving poverty, homelessness and other issues the world faces today. La Puente has several enterprises, and does a decent job of finding creative ways to sustain itself. The next step in the process here in the Valley, will certainly be to set up these micro-enterprises for people to sustain themselves as well.

Anyway, check out the video below!

Leave a Reply

