The Art of Asking

A quick recap of today: I went for a run outside for my first time this morning. It’s certainly more difficult with the higher altitude, but I managed to finish two miles. At Adelante I spent most of my time at my computer, catching up on emails and posting a few things on the Facebook page. On my way out the door I was asked to be the presenter at Life Skills Monday night for the Adelante clients. Even though I have a really busy schedule and won’t have much time to prepare, I think it will be a good experience for all of us and I hope I pull together something meaningful. I do have a few ideas up my sleeve and am excited to see how it goes. Tonight I had the Leading Edge business class, where we learned about some great resources for researching and understanding the field we want to start a business in. Demographics will be a huge piece of this, and I now have plenty of articles and websites to gather information from to keep me busy the next few months…

This TED talk I’ve posted below that I just watched got me thinking about and questioning the idea of asking for help. When being raised, we’re often told it’s impolite or selfish to ask for things…

But shouldn’t we sometimes? Don’t we need to show our vulnerability? Shouldn’t we empower others, let them help us and feel needed and appreciated?

And then it hit me—one of my very first blog posts was about this very thing: https://chloeamericorps.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/airport-reflections/

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 10.42.21 PM

With technology and our busy schedules, we become numb to the simpler ways of living. Instead of borrowing something from a friend or neighbor, we must have one of our own—even if it’s only going to be used once or twice and then tucked away in a box in the back of the closet. What a strange, consumer-driven world we live in!

We need everything instantly and grow impatient when things don’t go our way, right away.

Do you ever get that anxious feeling when you see someone doing something that you know you could do 3 times better, or twice as fast? Food services come to my mind…You may get to a point where you just want to step in and do it yourself or teach them your way? But maybe we shouldn’t? After all, just because you have “your way” of doing something, doesn’t mean that their way isn’t just as well? Maybe we need to slow down more, take a step back and appreciate that person’s time and energy. Appreciate that they are there, and use that moment as an opportunity to get to know them.

Leave a Reply

