Hammock-ing in solitude

The weather was so beautiful today. Clear blue skies, with the warm sun shining bright. I didn’t even need to wear a jacket outside!

After spending quite some time sweeping away piles of piles of deer poop (while three deer watched me from 20 feet away and pooped some more), I cleared the way to the corner of our backyard near a tree. I was finally able to set up and test my hammock! I got a double nesting one, which is nice because it’s wide enough you can cocoon the hammock around you. I didn’t take my sleeping pad or sleeping bag out yet, but I know it will definitely be necessary to keep the cold air underneath you from numbing your backside. I read a bit of my book and then closed my eyes with the warmth of the sun shining down on my face. It was so nice to take time and relax in nature.

I went to the store to pick up a few things, and ended up spending way more than I planned. It’s disappointing when you try to shop for basic, natural products without all the extra chemicals and nonsense, you end up spending way more…

It’s nice to just hang out a while today by myself. I really enjoy solitude, and I find that not everyone knows the value of taking time to yourself. This evening I am going to eat some pine nut couscous and a nice, big spinach salad, finish washing my blankets and laundry, and kick my feet up to a Netflix movie.

I thought about all the things I’d like to brainstorm and work on for the week, but I know I just need to remove myself from those things this weekend. Besides, all the work will still be there for me Monday…

Tomorrow morning I am going with Katie to Del Norte to watch her give a presentation about La Puente to a group. I’ll be doing one myself up in Denver at the beginning of May, so I need to start learning the ropes…

After, I am going to hike the Sand Dunes with Rachel, Erin and a few others. i have been waiting to go there for weeks now, so I’m pretty excited.

Leave a Reply

