Workouts and work

After rising at 5:30 this morning, I attended a Core Circuit Training class at the gym. It took some time for me to accept that I could no longer lift 6 or 9-lb weights the same that I used to, and that my plank was extra shaky. I really have lost the majority of my core muscles, but it’s making me that much more motivated to get them back.

It feels so good to be exercising regularly again, and to be rising earlier.

The busier I am, the more productive I am.

My day at Adelante started off with a trip to the recycling center, with a pitstop to collect my house’s recycling as well. Unfortunately, Alamosa does not collect glass containers, but I am doing my best to encourage my roommates to recycle the rest. So far, so good!

After, I compiled the data from a computer literacy survey I gave out to the clients, and found that it’s a pretty even split between people having computer skills and others having none whatsoever. Everyone seems to know they have access to a computer somewhere—whether it’s at a friends house or the library—but a few have no idea how to even turn on a computer. I am really eager to start working with the clients and developing their computer skills while creating quality resumes and cover letters. But beyond that, I really want to get to know them better on a more personal level, and see if I can motivate and encourage them to follow their dreams and utilize their passions. Later in the afternoon I picked up a web camera, two microphone headsets and some USB flash drives. There is one client who has a son in Guatemala and will be able to use the computers at E3 to Skype with him. Very exciting!

Tomorrow morning begins bright and early again, this time with a cycling and pilates class. I’ll be putting in a long work day tomorrow, traveling around the Valley and attending various meetings, followed by the first night of the Leading Edge business class. I am excited, but know I’d better get to bed extra early…

Leave a Reply

